

PRESS RELEASE

For Immediate Release April 23, 2024

Contact: Sadie R. Carns
ATSPA Communications Coordinator
(717) 766-1616
scarns@atspa.org

ATSPA Recognizes Trauma Prevention Leaders in PA

Mechanicsburg, Pa. – The American Trauma Society, Pennsylvania Division (ATSPA) held the 2024 Recognition Awards Presentation today. Each year, ATSPA recognizes physicians, nurses, EMTs, first responders and civilians who demonstrate a commitment to excellence in the trauma prevention and treatment field. This year, the presentation was held as part of the 2024 ATSPA Annual Conference and 50th Anniversary Celebration at the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square, in Lancaster, PA.

"The sacrifice and commitment exhibited by our awardees always amazes us." said Krista Brands, ATSPA CEO. "They give so much for their communities and deserve to be recognized for their efforts."

The *Dr. John M. Templeton, Jr. Physician Award for Commitment to Excellence in Trauma Care* is given to a physician who has displayed a commitment to excellence in trauma care in the following areas: *clinical expertise, philanthropy, leadership, trauma-related research and trauma prevention and education.* The 2024 recipient is Jennifer Silvis, DO from Conemaugh Memorial Medical Center, in Johnstown, PA.

The Barbara Esposito Excellence in Trauma Nursing Award is given to a trauma staff nurse who has displayed excellence in any one of the following areas: clinical expertise, leadership, research, education, prevention, outreach and patient advocacy. The 2024 recipient is Tineka Smith-Wilson, BSN, RN from Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, in Philadelphia, PA.

The First Responder Call to Action Award is given to a first responder, a first responder agency or group of agencies who has (have) gone above and beyond the call of duty in response to a trauma incident. The honoree(s) exemplifies the goals of the ATSPA in preventing needless injury and death by his/her (their) quick actions. The 2024 recipient is Rickey Price Jr. of the Cambria County Swift Water Rescue Team, Cambria County, PA.

The *Trauma Prevention Recognition Award* is given to an individual or community group who goes above and beyond in committing to trauma prevention programming. The 2024 recipient is Sunny Jackson, MSN, RN, CNL, TCRN, CCRN, from Penn Presbyterian, in Philadelphia, PA.

The *Civilian Savior and Survivor Award* is given to an individual who takes it upon themselves to offer a helping hand to a fellow citizen during a period of adversity or personal danger, and/or one who withstands peril and dangerous conditions and demonstrates a determined will to survive. The 2024 recipient is Benjamin Stine.



The *H. Arnold Muller, MD, Emergency Medicine Resident Scholarship Award* is given to an emergency medicine resident in PA, who displays the highest standards in professionalism and patient interaction, areas in which Dr. Muller excelled.

The 2024 recipients are:

- Nicholas Dulin, MD from Jefferson Einstein Medical Center, in Philadelphia, PA
- Matthew Turner, MD from Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, in Hershey,
 PA

The American Trauma Society, Pennsylvania Division (ATSPA) is a non-profit organization committed to injury prevention and mitigation through education, intervention, and advocacy. Our work includes providing presentations and educational materials on many traumatic injury prevention topics, including senior fall prevention, bike safety, farm safety and much more.

###

Pictures of the awardees and the presentation are available upon request.